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The following list of questions pertain to Delaware  

Personal Income Tax filing for the 2019 Tax Year  
(2020 Filing Season) 

 

1. When are my Delaware Personal Income taxes due? 
In response to COVID-19, Delaware Personal Income taxes are now due on July 15th for the 
2019 Tax Year. 

2. Can I file an extension and if so, how? 
Yes, you can file a Delaware Extension using form 200EX.  It is due on or before July 15th for 
the 2019 tax year.  You may file it by mailing in the form or filing on our website.  Please note 
that it is ONLY an extension of time to file, not pay. 

3. What is the status of my refund? 
With your SS# and your anticipated refund amount, you can inquire on the status of your 
refund by clicking here. 

4. When will I receive my refund? 
Please allow 10-12 weeks for processing. 

5. I need to change my address, because I have moved since filing my return.  
In order to change your address please send in a written request by mail, fax or email us at 
DOR_PublicService@delaware.gov to update your file.  

6. I need to change my banking information; it is different than what I put on the 
return? 
Unfortunately, we cannot change your direct deposit information after your return is filed.  
However, we can issue a check instead of a direct deposit.  Please email the refund 
department at: DOR_RevAccounting@delaware.gov to let them know that your information 
was incorrect. 

7. I need to know what account number was placed on my return. 
For security reasons, we are unable to provide this information to you.  Please check with your 
return preparer or review the software you used to find this information.   

8. I no longer want to receive direct deposit; can I receive a check? 
Yes, we can change your refund from a direct deposit to a check if it has not yet issued.  
Please email the refund department at: DOR_RevAccounting@delaware.gov. 

https://dorweb.revenue.delaware.gov/scripts/refinq/refinq.dll
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9. I no longer want a check; can I receive direct deposit? 

Unfortunately, for security reasons, the Division of Revenue cannot make a change from a 
check to a direct deposit. 

10. I was told my check was already mailed but I have not received it yet?   
With your SS# and your anticipated refund amount, you can inquire on the status of your 
refund by clicking here.  A new check cannot be issued unless is has been 30 days since the 
original refund was issued.  If you believe it has been over 30 days, please email the refund 
department at: DOR_RevAccounting@delaware.gov. 

11. I received a letter stating that you are taking my refund, and the funds are being 
sent to another agency. Why? 
Delaware law allows refunds to be used to pay debts owed to certain other state agencies.  If 
you dispute the charges, you will need to contact the agency listed on the letter.   

12. I received a letter requesting my W-2’s, why do you need them?  Did you not 
receive them with my return? 
When the return was electronically filed, it did not include copies of the original W-2’s.  In 
order to make sure that we issue the correct refund, we need the physical copy of your W-2’s 
to your confirm Delaware withholdings.  This generally happens when we are unable to verify 
your W-2 information from your employer’s filing. 

13. Why do you need a copy of my other state tax return? 
We are asking for a copy of the other state return to verify the credit for taxes paid to another 
state that has been claimed on your Delaware return. 

14. Did you receive my return? 
With your SS# and your anticipated refund amount, you can check the status of your refund 
by clicking here.  If your return was mailed, please allow at least 4 weeks for it to be entered 
in our system.   

15. I filed an amended return and I am checking status?  
 
With your SS# and your anticipated refund amount, you can check the status of your refund 
by clicking here.   Because we process current year returns prior to processing amended 
returns, please allow up to 3-6 months for processing.  

https://dorweb.revenue.delaware.gov/scripts/refinq/refinq.dll
mailto:DOR_RevAccounting@delaware.gov
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16. I need tax forms, where can I get them? 
You can download forms from our website or we can mail them to you.  While forms are 
usually available through our local offices or your local libraries, because of COVID-19, those 
locations are closed.  We encourage you to refer to our website for blank forms in the 
meantime.  

17. Why am I being charged a penalty for not making estimated taxes? 
Delaware law states that you are required to pay estimated taxes if you expect to have a 
liability of $800 or more.  If you wish to protest this assessment you may do so by filling out 
page 3 of your notice and mailing it to the Tax Conferee at PO Box 8714, Wilmington, DE  
19899-8714 OR emailing a copy to taxconferee@delaware.gov.  

18. I live in Delaware but work in another state, how do I prepare my taxes? 
You will need to complete your federal return first, then you will need to prepare a non-
resident return for the state in which you work, and last prepare your DE state income tax 
return.  On your Delaware return, you will be entitled to claim a credit for taxes paid to 
another state for those taxes paid to the state in which you work. 

19. I live outside of Delaware but work in Delaware.  Do I need to file a Delaware tax 
return?  
Yes, you will need to file a DE Non-Resident return reporting your income and the tax thereon.  
In most cases, you will also have to file in your home state and may be able to claim a credit 
for taxes paid to Delaware. 

20. I made a mistake on my tax return.  How do I change my return? 
You will need to file an amended return. Amended returns should be submitted by mail to the 
Division of Revenue.  If the discrepancy results from a minor error, you may contact us via 
email at DOR_PersIncTax@delaware.gov, provide us with the error and any missing 
documentation, and we may be able to correct the return if it is currently being processed.   

21. I have been calling the IRS but can’t get through.  I need your help. 
We cannot answer calls/questions regarding the IRS, please call 1-800-829-1040.  Please note, 
however, that as a result of COVID-19, all IRS Service Centers are currently closed, and they 
are not answering their public service phone lines.  Please refer to www.irs.gov for additional 
information.  

22. My employer has not provided my W-2 and I need it.  How do I receive it? 
If you cannot get a copy from your employer, you will need to contact the IRS to obtain a 
copy.  The State of Delaware may have W-2 information, but it will only include your Delaware 
withholding. 

mailto:taxconferee@delaware.gov
mailto:DOR_PersIncTax@delaware.gov
http://www.irs.gov/


                      FAQ - PERSONAL INCOME TAX FILING TY19 

4 | P a g e  

 

 
23. Someone claimed my children on their return.  What do I do? 

Please email DOR_PublicService@delaware.gov to address this issue on your Delaware return. 
You should also contact the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 or visit their website at www.irs.gov for 
additional options.   

24. I need a copy of the tax return I filed.  Can I get a copy? 
If you need a copy of your return email DOR_PublicService@delaware.gov or mail a written 
request, and we will mail a copy of the return to you. 

25. I did not receive my 1099-G form.  How do I obtain it? 
Please email the refund department at DOR_RevAccounting@delaware.gov. 

26. I need help with my tax returns.  Where can I get my returns prepared? 
You may contact the following organizations to assist with tax preparation: 
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA): 302-655-0803 
AARP: 302-498-6511 

27. I am a victim of identity theft.  Who do I contact? 
Please email DOR_PublicService@delaware.gov 

28. What happens if I can’t pay my taxes by the due date?  Can I set up a payment 
plan? 
Yes, you may set up a payment plan after the July 15th Personal Income Tax due date.  Please 
note that interest and penalties will begin to accrue on all balances that remain outstanding 
after the July 15 deadline.  In the meantime, we encourage you to pay what you can. 
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