

DELAWAREFiduciary Estimated Income Tax FORM FID-EST (FORMERLY 400-ES)

2024

Revised 11/13/23

General Instructions:

Who Must Make a Declaration:

If the fair market value of the assets of a resident or non-resident trust, for any taxable year, equals or exceeds \$1 million, the trust is required to file estimated tax declarations (Form FID-EST) for the subsequent taxable year.

When and Where to File a Declaration:

Your Declaration and payment of estimated tax shall be filed or paid on or before April 30th or on such later dates as are specified in the instructions below. Payments should be filed with the Division of Revenue at P.O. Box 2044, Wilmington, Delaware 19899-2044.

Fiscal Year:

If you file your income tax returns on a fiscal year basis, your dates for filing the declaration and payment of the estimated tax will be the 30th day of the fourth month and the 15th day of the sixth and ninth months of your current fiscal year and the 15th day of the first month of the next fiscal year.

Changes in Income or Deduction(s):

- A. Even though your situation on April 30th is such that you are not required to file a declaration at the time, your expected income or deduction(s) may change so that you will be required to file a declaration late. In such case, the time for filing is as follows: June 15th if the change occurs after April 1st and before June 2nd; September 15th if the change occurs after June 1st and before September 2nd; January 15th of the following year if the change occurs after September 1st. The estimated tax may be paid in full at the time of filing the declaration or in equal installments on the remaining payment dates.
- B. After you have filed a declaration, if changes in income or deduction(s) cause a substantial increase or decrease in estimated tax, you should enter the adjusted amount in the space provided on each remaining Form FID-EST and forward on required due dates

Payment of Estimated Tax:

Your estimated tax may be paid in full with the declaration, or in equal installments on or before May 1st, June 15th, September 15th, and January 15th of the following year. Check or money order should be made payable to Delaware Division of Revenue.

Write your Taxpayer Identification Number and tax period you are reporting on the check or money order. DO NOT STAPLE your payment to the return.

Penalty for Failure to Pay Estimated Income Tax:

The following penalty is imposed by law for underpayment of any installment of estimated tax: A penalty of 1 1/2% per month, or fraction thereof, on the underpayment during the period of the underpayment except in certain situations. The penalty does not apply if each installment is paid on time and (a) is at least 90% of the amount due on the income tax return for the taxable year, or (b) is based on a tax computed by using your taxable income for last year and this year's tax rate.

Misplaced or Damaged Forms:

Replacement forms can be obtained on the Division of Revenue website at www.revenue.delaware.gov or by calling the Division of Revenue's Public Service Bureau at (302) 577-8200.

Tax Computation:

1. Estimated Taxable Income	\$
2. Estimated Tax (Use Computation Table Below)	\$

Tax Computation Schedule:

	If Estimated Taxable Income on Line 3 is:		
Your Tax Is:	But Not Over	At Least	
\$0.	\$ 2,000	0	\$
2.2% of amount over \$2,000.	5,000	2,000	
\$66.00 + 3.90% of amount over \$5,000	10,000	5,000	
\$261.00 + 4.80% of amount over \$10,000	20,000	10,000	
\$741.00 + 5.20% of amount over \$20,000	25,000	20,000	
\$1,001 + 5.55% of amount over \$25,000	60,000	25,000	
\$2,943.50 + 6.60% of amount over \$60,000	60,000 and Over		